PSYCHOLOGY FUNDAMENTALS 9B/11B

Winter 2015, Tue/Th 11:00-12:20pm, HIB100

 

 

Professor:
Mark Steyvers
Office hrs: Wed 3-4pm
Office: SBSG 2316

Administrative Teaching Assistant:
Percy Mistry (pkmistry@uci.edu)
Office Location: SBSG 2261
Office Hours: Wed 10:45-11:45am

Instructing Teaching Assistants:
Kier Groulx (kgroulx@uci.edu)
Office Location: SSL114
Office hours: Thu 12:30-1:30pm

Pele Schramm (pschramm@uci.edu)
Office Location: SST683
Office Hours: Mon 4-5pm

Matthew Richardson (mlrichar@uci.edu)
Office Location: SSL306
Office Hours: Wed 11-11:50am

 

Syllabus PDF

Playlist for lectures

Class Schedule

DATE

LECTURES AND EXAMS

READINGS

SLIDES AND EXTRA MATERIAL

Section I: Memory and Learning

Thu Sept 24

Introduction

 

PPT PDF

Tue Sept 29

1. Memory part I

Gleitman Ch. 8
pp. 319-326

PPT PDF
Extra slides on misinformation
Thu Oct 1

2. Memory part II

Gleitman Ch. 8
pp. 301-31
2

PPT PDF
online quiz posted after class
Tue Oct 6

3. Memory part III

Gleitman Ch. 8
pp. 313-319

PPT PDF
Thu Oct 8

4. Memory part IV

Gleitman Ch. 8
pp. 327-337

PPT PDF
online quiz posted after class
Tue Oct 13

5. Learning part I

Gleitman Ch. 7
pp. 259-277

PPT PDF
Thu Oct 15

6. Q & A

 
Tue Oct 20

EXAM 1

 

Section II: Thinking and Language
Thu Oct 22

7. Learning part II

Gleitman Ch. 7
pp. 278-298

PPT PDF
online quiz posted after class
Tue Oct 27

8. Thinking part I

Gleitman Ch. 9
pp. 341-347

PPT PDF
Thu Oct 29

9. Thinking part II

Gleitman Ch. 9
pp. 348-364

PPT PDF
online quiz posted after class
Tue Nov 3

10. Thinking part III

 Gleitman Ch. 9
pp. 365-375

PPT PDF
Thu Nov 5

11. Language part I

 Gleitman Ch. 10
pp. 379-396 + figure 10.24

PPT PDF
Tue Nov 10

EXAM 2

 

 
Section III: Language and Development
Thu Nov 12

12. Language part II

Gleitman Ch. 10
pp. 397-413

PPT PDF
Tue Nov 17

13. Language part III

Gleitman Ch. 10
pp. 414-421

PPT PDF
online quiz posted after class
Thu Nov 19

NO CLASS

 

 
Tue Nov 24

14. Development part I

Gleitman Ch. 14
pp. 545-561
PPT PDF
Thu Nov 26 Thanksgiving    
Tue Dec 1

15. Development part II

Gleitman Ch. 14
pp. 562-5
73

PPT PDF
Thu Dec 3

16. Development part III

Gleitman Ch. 14
pp. 574-587

PPT PDF
Tue Dec 8 10:30am - 12:30pm

FINAL EXAM -- note the time is not the usual class meeting time

 

 

 

Discussion Sections

Section

Room

Day/Time

Code

TA name/Email

Dis 1

SSTR 103

MON

54051

Kier Groulx

 

 

12-12:50pm

68101

kgroulx@uci.edu

Dis 2

ET202

MON

54052

 

 

 

2-2:50pm

68102

 

Dis 3

SST120

MON

54053

Pele Schramm

 

 

5-5:50pm

68103

pschramm@uci.edu

Dis 4

SST120

MON

54054

Matthew Richardson

 

 

6-6:50pm

68104

mlrichar@uci.edu

Dis 5

SST220A

TUE

54055

 

 

 

8-8:50am

68105

 

Dis 6

SE2 1306

TUE

54056

Pele Schramm

 

 

3-3:50pm

68106

pschramm@uci.edu

Dis 7

SE2 1304

TUE

54057

Kier Groulx

 

 

5-5:50pm

68107

kgroulx@uci.edu

Dis 8

SST 220B

TUE

54058

Matthew Richardson

 

 

6-6:50pm

68108

mlrichar@uci.edu